Trans Pacific Partnership (TPP)

The Trans Pacific Partnership (TPP) is an initiative for trade liberalization that searches to create a strategic alliance to strengthen economic integrations, and in the future, be the platform for a Regional Free Trade Agreement.

The TPP countries are: Chile, Brunei, New Zealand, Singapore, USA, Australia, Peru, Vietnam, Malaysia, Canada, and Mexico; together they represent 27 percent of global GDP, 31 percent of world imports and 25 percent of exports. 

​​​​Date​ ​ ​Activities
​2006 J​​anuary ​The Trans-Pacific Strategic Agreement negotiations (P4), started with Chile, Brunei Darussalam, New Zealand and Si​ngapore. The negotiations remained open to the possible join of Economic Cooperation Forum Asia-Pacific (APEC) countries. 
​2008 ​​​September ​U.S announces its interest to join TPP.
November ​U.S inclusion arouses interest to join the TPP in other APEC countries such as Australia, Vietnam and Peru. 
​2009 ​December ​Negotiation rounds concluded with the participation of nine countries. 
​2011 ​November ​During the APEC summit, Mexico, Canada and Japan express their interest to join the TPP negotiations.
​June ​Formal invitation to Canada and Mexico to join the TPP negotiations. 
​July ​U.S President sent to the Congress a request for Mexico’s join to the TPP. 
​2012 ​October ​Mexico formally joins TPP. 
​December ​Mexico participated, for the first time, in the 15th round of negotiations on the TPP.